Greenway Commission

The Roanoke Valley Greenway Commission was established with the signing of an intergovernmental agreement among the four participating governments (City of Roanoke, Roanoke County, City of Salem, and Town of Vinton) on April 19, 1997. The Commission is an advisory body with responsibilities and duties which are detailed in the intergovernmental agreement and summarized here:

  • Establish and periodically revise a greenway plan for Roanoke Valley
  • Advise and assist the participating governments on
    • Existing and potential opportunities for greenways
    • Federal, state, and local legislation concerning greenways
    • Standards for design and construction of greenways
    • Project plans and timetables
  • Assist with solicitation of donations, grants, property, and services for the greenways
  • Facilitate cooperation among the participating governments, coordinate the efforts of federal, state and local jurisdiction, and pursue public/private partnerships in the development, construction and maintenance of the greenways
  • Coordinate with Pathfinders for Greenways in its use of volunteers for greenway and other trail construction and maintenance

The intergovernmental agreement was revised on January 23, 2009. Revised bylaws were undated on October 28, 2009.


Voting Members

  • Five members appointed by each participating government (3 citizens and 2 staff)
  • One representative of the Metropolitan Planning Organization
  • One representative of Pathfinders for Greenways

Non-Voting Members

  • One representative of the Blue Ridge Land Conservancy
  • One representative of the Western Virginia Water Authority
  • One representative from the Roanoke Valley Alleghany Regional Commission
  • The Commission may add non-voting members to represent other interested organizations


Greenway Coordinator: Liz Belcher 540-777-6330


Meetings of the Commission and its committees are open to the public. The Commission meets on the 4th Wednesday of most months at 4:00 PM. The date, time and location of meetings are available in the office of the Commission at 1206 Kessler Mill, Salem, and may be obtained from the Greenway Coordinator at that address or by telephone or email (see contact information above). Information about committee meetings may also be obtained from the chairs of the committees, listed below


Executive – This committee is the coordinating group for the Commission and is empowered to conduct business on behalf of the commission in the periods between commission meetings. Members are elected by the full commission; these include four officers and three at-large members. A representative of Pathfinders for Greenways is a non-voting participant in the Executive Committee.

Locality Teams – The appointed members of each of the participating governments meet periodically to discuss issues specific to their localities’ existing and planned greenways and trails. The chairs of these committees are:

Joint Committees with Pathfinders for Greenways

Development – This committee is engaged in fundraising efforts for the greenway system.

Public Relations and Education – This committee provides support for the Bridge the Gap campaign and also educational and promotional efforts for the greenway system including signs, maps, and web support.

Special Events – This committee provides support for greenway events such as the annual picnic and Gallop 4 the Greenways.

Foundation for Roanoke Valley Advisory Committee – This committee advises the Foundation for Roanoke Valley on the disbursement of funds from the Roanoke Valley Greenways Fund established by Pathfinders for Greenways. The Commission Chair serves ex officio as the chair of this committee, which also includes the Greenway Coordinator, Treasurer of the Greenway Commission, and three representatives of Pathfinders for Greenways.